Blog Post 7

 

Finella Elms work with patterns and edges in her pottery really inspired my work. As I was looking through her work I found a picture of a shell pattern she made. The fine lines and detail fascinated me. As I studied the shell piece I had the idea of creating and eye or the iris of an eye using that technique. When I am drawing it is very difficult to draw the details of the eye and I wanted to see if working with clay would be any easier.

My artwork will convey the theme Up-Close by playing with the idea of having one art piece look complete different from how far away you stand. From a distance you will be able to fully see the iris from where you stand. As you approach the work the iris shape will fall away until you end up looking at a circular abstract piece made by the lines that create the detail of the iris. 

One thought on “Blog Post 7”

  1. T: This is so amazing! I really love this project. I really likes the details and the lines.
    A: How did you makes the lines?
    G: Add more interesting body or figure for it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *